Here’s how to get an Arizona driver’s license after moving. You wouldn’t want to walk anywhere in the Arizona heat!
MOVING TIP: If you're on your way here, make sure to reserve a storage unit in Arizona. That way, you can store your stuff when you arrive if your house closing falls through. Don't have a new home yet? Storing your things in an Arizona storage unit will give you extra time to house-hunt!
How to Prove You’re a New Arizona Resident
So you’ve just arrived, and you need to get a new driver’s license in Arizona to replace your old one. That’s no problem as long as you can prove that you’re a resident of our fine state. Once you can, you should get your driver’s license immediately because, well, it’s the law around here. There are several ways to prove you’re a new Arizona resident, including:
- Proving that you have a job and work in Arizona full-time. (Bo seasonal work is allowed, unfortunately.
- Proving that you’re a registered Arizona voter. (Your voter registration card will do nicely.)
- Showing that your children go to school in Arizona and pay the Arizona rate, not the nonresident rate.
- Showing that you have any type of Arizona state license. A license to practice law, for example, or chiropractic, dentistry, carpentry, etc.
- Proving that you reside in Arizona at least 7 months out of every year. (This one is regardless of your status as a permanent resident.)
Do keep in mind these 2 caveats:
1- If you’re an active-duty military member based in Arizona, you’re not considered an Arizona resident.
2- Students enrolled in school for less than 7 semester hours are not considered Arizona residents.
How to Get an Arizona Driver’s License For Those With Valid Driver’s Licenses from Another State or Canada
OK, so you’ve got the documents and proof that show you’re an Arizona resident. Excellent! If you already have a driver’s license from another state (or Canada), you can get an Arizona DL quite easily and quickly. In fact, you can get it without taking a written or road test by simply transferring your existing license. (Lucky you!) Here’s how:
1- Apply In-Person at an Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), at a 3rd party license provider, or Online.
2- Complete the Application form. (Form 40-5122)
3- Provide the Correct Documentation.
To prove who you are, bring at least 2 of the following documents below:
1. Proof of identity
- Certified birth certificate.
- U.S. passport.
- Passport card.
2. Proof of Social Security Number
- Social Security card.
- W-2 form.
3. Proof of Arizona residency
- Utility bill.
- Credit card statement.
- Bank statement.
- Insurance policy.
4- Turn in your driver’s license from your former state. (You can’t keep it, sorry.)
5- Pass a Vision Test
The test costs $5.00
6- Pay the Licensing Fee
- Ages 16-39: $25
- Age 40-44: $20
- Ages 45-49: $15
- Age 50 and older: $10
7- Get your Temporary Driver’s License
Your permanent driver’s license typically takes about two weeks to arrive. If it doesn’t in 3 weeks, contact the MVD immediately.
What Are the Different Types of Arizona Driver’s Licenses?
Depending on your age, occupation, and what you plan to drive, Arizona has several different types of driver’s licenses. See below for the list of how to get different Arizona driver’s licenses after moving.
This is the license most people think about when they think about a driver’s license. It allows you to drive any type of vehicle except a motorcycle or one that needs a commercial license. For adults 18 years of age or older, Class D is what you’ll need.
If you’re a teenager between the age of 16 and 18, a Class G is what you’ll get until you turn 18. Also, until you turn 21, your license will show that you aren’t 21. It will also have a different format. (Vertical instead of horizontal.) Also, to apply for a driver’s license, you’ll need to be 15 years and 6 months of age.
If you’re a professional driver, you’ll need one of these three classes of motor vehicle drivers licenses. (Typically referred to as a commercial driver’s license or CDL.) With any of these 3, you can drive a vehicle that carries over 26,001 pounds of gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR). You will also be able to drive vehicles that can carry 16 or more passengers (including you, the driver). Plus, any vehicle with hazardous material placards.
This type of license is needed to be able to drive a motorcycle in Arizona. Keep in mind that, to apply, you must be at least 16 years of age or older. Also, in Arizona, helmets are a requirement under the law.
Welcome to Arizona!
If you’ve just arrived in the Grand Canyon State, welcome! We hope your move was uneventful and wish you the best of luck getting your new Arizona driver’s license. Here at Storage Solutions, we help folks like you who have just moved to our lovely state. How? By renting them clean, safe, and affordable Arizona storage units!
If you have questions about renting a storage unit in Arizona, you can chat with us online. Even better, find your local Storage Solutions location and drop by! The on-site manager would be more than happy to show you around and help you get the rental process started. By the way, you can also reserve a storage unit in Arizona online before you arrive. (It takes less than 10 minutes!) Until then, best of luck finding your new home and, of course, getting your new Arizona driver’s license!